Alimosho Local Government was carved out of Ikeja Local Government during Gen. Ibraheem Badamosi Babaginda’s administration in the year 1991. Majority of the people living in these areas were premodinantly Aworis’ and Egbados’ while the main occupation of its settlers were peasant farmers.

Before the decentralization via creation of Local Council Development Areas in Lagos State by Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubus’ administration, Alimosho Local Government was situated in Ikotun and subsequently relocated to Akowanjo after the creations.

In the year 2003, five Local Council Development Areas (L.C.D.A) were carved out of Alimosho Local Government to make grassroots government more meaningful and accessible for efficient delivery of dividends of democracy.

The current Alimosho Local Government is a semi urban community and the secretariat is situated at 32, Bada Street, Williams layout, Akowonjo and comprises of Omituntun, Olori, Akowonjo, Alimosho, Egbeda, Shasha, Orisumbare, Bammeke, Alabata, Alaguntan and Santos-Layout repectively.

The Local Government Area is bounded by two Local Governments and four Local Council Development Areas namely, Ikeja and Agege Local Governments as well as Mosan-Okunola, Egbe-Idimu, Agbado/Oke Odo and Igando-Ikotun Local Council Development Areas.

Alimosho is very rich in culture, prominent amongst which are Oro, Igunnu and Egungu festivals annually celebrated. Aside the cultural heritage, majority of the inhabitants are Muslims and Christians while Yoruba Language is widely spoken in the community.

Alimosho LGA


Who is the Executive Chairman of Alimosho LGA?

The Executive Chairman of Alimosho LGA is Hon. Jelili Sulaimon…

How many wards do we have in Alimosho LGA

There are seven (7) wards in Alimosho. Ward A (Akowonjo), ward B (Santos Layout), Ward C (Abati), Ward D (Orisumbare), Ward E (Egbeda), Ward F (Alabata) and Ward G (Iyana-Ipaja)…..

Who are the Traditional Leaders in Alimosho ?

Alimosho LGA has two (2) Oba and six (6) Baales. HRM, the Elegbeda of Egbeda Kingdom; HRM the Onishasha of Shasha Kingdom; Baale of Akowonjo; Baale of Orisunbare; Baale of Shasha; Baale of Omituntun; Baale of Bammeke; and Baale of Santos Layout….

How many market are in Alimosho?

The Local Government has five (5) markets. Iyana-Ipaja market, Olubede Market, Baale Market, Orisunbare Market and Egbeda Market…..